The ICD-10-CM refers to the standardized coding framework that the doctors and other healthcare practitioners in the United States use. It is used to identify and categorize all diagnoses, manifestations, and procedures associated with hospital treatment. It offers the appropriate amount of information for diagnostic accuracy and morbidity categorization in the United States. Did you know ICD-10-CM stands for the International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification?

You can find ICD-10-CM on the International Classification of Illnesses. It is issued by the World Health Organization (WHO). Moreover, it employs unique alphanumeric numbers to identify recognized diseases and other health issues. As per the World Health Organization, doctors, coders, healthcare information administrators, nurses, and other healthcare workers use ICD-10-CM to store and retrieve diagnostic data. In addition to preparing nationwide mortality and morbidity data, ICD databases can also assist in creating national morbidity and mortality figures.

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has required that all Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)-covered institutions use ICD-10-CM codes (HHS).

The Layout & Organization

ICD-10-CM consists of seven alphanumeric characters. Each code starts with a letter, accompanied by two digits. The category is the first three characters of ICD-10-CM and indicates the broad nature of the condition or injury. Following the category comes a decimal place and the subcategory. This is accompanied by up to two subclassifications that further describe the damage or disease’s cause, symptoms, site, intensity, and type. The last character represents the extension.

The extension outlines the nature of this interaction. That’s the “first encounter” if that’s the first instance a healthcare practitioner saw a patient with this ailment. Every contact after the first one categorizes itself as a “subsequent encounter.”

The word “sequelae” denotes patient visits connected to the consequences of a prior injury or illness.

So the initial character of an ICD-10-CM code is often an alpha character, the second character is often a numeric value, and the third through seventh digits may be either alpha or numeric. 

The Significance Of ICD-10-CM codes

ICD-10-CM codes are crucial as they’re more specific than ICD-10 codes and may provide additional data about the extent of a patient’s disease.

The transition to ICD-10-CM from ICD-9-CM was also prompted by the notion that ICD-9-CM was growing out of code expansion capacity since most code categories were already at capacity. ICD-9-CM codes also missed the precision and depth of ICD-10-CM codes. 

According to CMS rules, diagnostic codes help and report with the maximum available characters. So, you should use three-character codes only if you cannot split it further.

A code is invalid if it does not include the entire number of necessary characters and a seventh character if needed, including zeros.

In addition to an alphabetical index and a tabular list, ICD-10-CM contains both. The alphabetical index is alphabetically listed words and accompanying codes, but the tabular listing is an organized list of codes divided into chapters depending on a bodily system or disease. 

ICD-10-CM would move the United States closer to a universal categorization of injuries, which will be helpful in accurately defining the type and severity of injuries with respect to mortality risk and the likelihood of residual damage.

ICD-10-CM external cause of injury codes is also significantly more specific than ICD-9-CM codes. This coding scheme offers a structure for the systematic collection of population-based data required to adequately characterize and record how and where injuries happen. The codes are essential for injury monitoring and creating, executing, and evaluating programs for injury control and prevention.

A greater level of specificity in the codes will facilitate the monitoring of U.S. goals for measuring success in injury and conflict prevention and control. The health insurance business also uses external injury codes to control healthcare costs. 

Final Say

The switch from ICD-9-CM to ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS came with a bit of apprehension back in 2015, however provider offices adapted quickly now see the value of the extended code set. Most importantly, higher-quality data for monitoring the quality, safety, and effectiveness of healthcare services is now available. This will result in improved data in clinical research, health policy planning, claims processing and payment systems infrastructure and more.


Need more information or have questions on any type of billing we do?

Affiliates of VSS Medical Technologies

Sign up for company updates and latest news from NEMB.

Get In Touch 


888 - 771 - 6115
508 - 297 - 2068

19 Norfolk Avenue
South Easton, MA 02375


©Copyright 2024 New England Medical Billing Group LTD. All rights reserved.